Familiarize yourself with ISO standards

Familiarize yourself with ISO standards

Familiarize yourself with ISO standards

ISO is the acronym of international organization standardization.

ISO is composed of two international organizations called National Standards Associations and the United Nations Standards Coordination Committee. The United Nations Standards Coordination Committee is headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland, with two main committees. 1-Main Committee 2-Supervisory Board

ISO is a non-governmental organization composed of more than 160 countries. It is a standard agency representing each country to which it belongs.

ISO organization

The main task of ISO is to establish an effective coordination and communication bridge between enterprises and customers so that both parties can meet it, and all countries in the world can use this international trade standard and Establish easier and more dynamic communication with each other. Due to the increasing progress of mankind, it has been able to play its effective use.

The ISO, composed of a technical committee, proposes various standards to the world in various fields. The main purpose of the standard is to formulate a series of international rules and regulations for implementation and the establishment and use of the system. It can well meet the quality management and certification of customers and businesses, and due to continuous progress, the standards will be updated regularly.

The six-step process of developing ISO standards is as follows:

1-Proposal stage: The first step in creating and developing new standards begins with the organization Manufacturers and consumers request new standards, and the relevant ISO committee will decide whether new standards are needed.

2-Preliminary stage: The working group meets to prepare a new draft. The working group is composed of experts on the standard subject and stakeholders benefitting from the standard. Once the draft standard is reasonable and satisfactory, the Main Committee will decide on the next step.

3-Committee stage (main committee review): It can be said that this stage is optional, during which the members of the committee review and discuss the draft standards. Once the members of the committee agree on the content of the new standard, the new standard can move on to the next step.

4-Draft inquiry stage: This stage is the subject of inquiry to the new draft standard. At this stage, the draft will be called an international standard or DIS, and then exchange views, and finally Votes are distributed among key ISO members.

5-Approval stage: The approval stage of draft standards will be submitted to ISO members as the final draft of FDIS international standards, in which they will vote on the approval of the new standard.

6-ISO release phase: The last step is the ISO release phase. If approved by ISO members, FDIS will release and release it as a new international standard.

There are many types of ISO standards, and the following are some of the most important standards:

ISO 9001:2015

ISO 10004:2018

ISO 22000:2018

ISO 45001:2018